7th Framework Programme

The Seventh Framework Programme (FP7) the European Union's main instrument for funding scientific research and technological development, is designed to build on the achievements of the predecessor Framework Programmes towards the creation of the European Research Area, and carry it further towards the development of the knowledge economy and society in Europe. It will be fully operational as of 1 January 2007 and will expire in 2013.

The Seventh Framework Programme is organised in the following four Specific Programmes:

  • Cooperation
    Support is provided to trans-national collaborative research activities carried out in the following thematic areas: 

    1. Health 
    2. Food, Agriculture and Fisheries, Biotechnology
    3. Information and communication technologies
    4. Nanosciences, Nanotechnologies, Materials and new Production Technologies
    5. Energy
    6. Environment (including Climate Change)
    7. Transport (including Aeronautics)
    8. Socio-economic sciences and the humanities
    9. Space
    10. Security

    Across all these themes, support to trans-national cooperation is implemented through: Collaborative research; Joint Technology Initiatives; Coordination of non-Community research programmes and International Cooperation.

    For more information, please visit:
  • Capacities
    The objective of this programme is to support:

    1. Research Infrastructures
    2. Research for the benefit of SMEs
    3. Regions of Knowledge
    4. Research potential
    5. Science in Society
    6. Cohererent development of research policies
    7. Activities of International Cooperation

    For more information, please visit :